Student Senate

About the Student Senate

The Student Senate is the official committee representing secondary students’ views to the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board. 

It is composed of one Student Senator per secondary school and is chaired by the Student Trustees. Student Senators and Student Trustees each serve a one-year term. Student Trustees gather feedback from Student Senators to bring to the board and communicate updates to the student body at-large through the Student Senate. 

What the Student Senate Does

The Student Senate meets once a month to discuss key issues. Oftentimes, board staff attend meetings to receive feedback directly from students. Student Senators also have the opportunity to attend OCDSB Committee meetings (Committee of the Whole, Special Education Advisory Committee, Advisory Committee on Equity, Advisory Committee on the Arts, Indigenous Education Advisory Council, Audit Committee) to provide additional student voice at the board level.  

Schools must complete their Student Senator election or appointment process for the upcoming school year by May 31st. Typically, Student Senators also serve on their school’s student council. Students interested in becoming a Student Senator should contact their student council, student council teacher-supervisor, or school administration. For more information, refer to Policy P.113.GOV: Student Senate.

Members of the Student Senate

School Name

Student Senator Name

A.Y. Jackson Secondary School

Masoud Karimi

Bell High School

Laura Wang

Brookfield High School

Emmanuel Edelifo

Cairine Wilson

Brooke Colman

Canterbury High School

Tracy Li

Colonel By

Kake Jin

Earl of March SS

Marwan Bakr

Glebe Collegiate Institute

Sarah Brooks

Gloucester High School

Nadiya Ariaratnam

John MCCrae

Alejandro Giggey

Lisgar CI

Olivia Simms

Longfields Davidson Heights

Ishti Hossain

Merivale HS

Molly DeBat

Nepean HS

Noiya Katell

OCV Secondary

Joshua Gertsolf

Osgoode Township HS

Jenna Baker

Ottawa Tech

Kieran McMillan

Ridgemont High School

Nour Kaddoura

Sir Robert Borden HS

Maxwell Forzley

Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School

Samantha Presseault

South Carleton H.S.

Amal Abed

West Carleton Secondary School

Hady Ibrahim


Nasra Aden

Student Trustee

Chales Chen

Student Trustee

Joy Liu

Student Trustees 2020-2021

  • Charles Chen
    Charles Chen 
    2020-2021 Student Trustee
  • Joy Liu
    Joy Liu
    2020-2021 Student Trustee
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.