Election Information

Municipal and School Board Elections took place in Ottawa on Monday, October 22, 2018. The following individuals have been elected for a four-year term beginning December 1, 2018 and ending on November 14, 2022.*

Zone 1 - Lynn Scott
Zone 2 - Christine Boothby
Zone 3 - Donna Blackburn
Zone 4 - Wendy Hough
Zone 5 - Rob Campbell
Zone 6 - Chris Ellis
Zone 7 - Jennifer Jennekens
Zone 8 - Keith Penny
Zone 9 - Lyra Evans
Zone 10 - Erica Braunovan
Zone 11 - Mark Fisher
Zone 12 - Sandra Schwartz

Congratulations to the trustees elect and to everyone who was a candidate for the office of OCDSB trustee.  Your interest in public education is greatly appreciated.  

The new Board of Trustees will be sworn in on December 3, 2018.  In the interim, the current Board of Trustees will continue in office.  Members of the community are invited to join us to celebrate the work of the current Board of Trustees at their last official Board meeting on November 20, 2018 and to celebrate the inauguration of the newly elected Board on December 3, 2018.

The 12 trustees of the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board are responsible for overseeing a progressive educational system that serves over 71,000 students in 143 schools. Trustees are empowered under the Education Act to set policy for the operation of all public schools in Ottawa-Carleton, and are an important link between the school system and the community.




Municipal Election Period Begins

May 1, 2018

Nomination Day (last day to file or withdraw nomination papers)

July 27, 2018, at 2:00 p.m.

Election Day

October 22, 2018

First Day of New Term of Office

December 1, 2018

Ottawa-Carleton District School Board Inaugural Board Meeting

December 3, 2018, at 7:00 p.m.

Filing Deadline for Campaign Expenses

(Candidates may contact Municipal Clerk’s Office for additional details)

March 28, 2019, at 2:00 p.m.

Candidate Qualification Guidelines

Candidates must adhere to the qualification/disqualification guidelines outlined in Section 219 of the Education Act, and must be;

  • a Canadian citizen;
  • a resident of the board area;
  • at least 18 years of age; and
  • a public school tax supporter.

Individuals interested in becoming a trustee are encouraged to review information and instructions about the election and nomination processes, campaign finances, and other important information as outlined in the Municipal Elections Act. This information for candidates is available in the City of Ottawa Information for Candidates Guide and OCDSB policy P.122.GOV Election Activities.  

Trustee Roles and Responsibilities

Under the Education Act, trustees are mandated to:

  • promote student achievement and well-being
  • deliver effective and appropriate educational programs
  • develop, maintain and monitor effectiveness of Board policies
  • develop, communicate and review annually a Strategic Plan
  • monitor the performance of the Director of Education
  • practice responsible stewardship of Board resources

Learn more about Trustee Roles and Responsibilities.

2018-2022 Trustee Electoral Zones

On October 24, 2017 the Board approved changes to the electoral zone boundaries for zones 7 and 11, such that Zone 7 be comprised of municipal wards 20 (Osgoode) and 22 (Gloucester-South Nepean) and Zone 11 be comprised of municipal wards 16 (River) and 10 (Gloucester-Southgate). 

Adjustments made to these zones will be in effect for the 2018 election. The purpose of these changes was to better distribute the number of electors in each zone. 

Zone 1 – West Carleton-March/Stittsville/Rideau-Goulbourn 

Zone 2 – Kanata North/Kanata South

Zone 3 – Barrhaven/Knoxdale-Merivale

Zone 4 – Bay

Zone 5 – College

Zone 6 – Rideau-Rockcliffe/Alta Vista

Zone 7 – Gloucester-South Nepean/Osgoode

Zone 8 – Orleans-Cumberland

Zone 9 – Rideau-Vanier/Capital

Zone 10 – Somerset/Kitchissippi

Zone 11 – River/Gloucester-Southgate

Zone 12 – Innes/Beacon Hill-Cyrville

Information for Public School Trustee Candidates

There are many resources available for individuals interested in becoming a Public School Trustee Candidate.

About the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board:

About the Role of Public School Trustee:

Answers to frequently asked questions and additional information for candidates is available in the City of Ottawa Information for Candidates Guide.

Trustee Honoraria

Effective December 1, 2017, based on student enrolment calculations, in accordance with the Education Act and Ontario Regulation 357/06, Trustee honoraria is set at

  • $16,007.55 for trustees;
  • $20,240.28 for the Vice Chair; and
  • $24,473.00 for the Chair.

Additional funds are allocated for reasonable miscellaneous, professional development and communication expenses incurred in a trustee’s term of office, as outlined in P.005.GOV Board Member Expenses and Support Services.

For further information please contact Katrine Mallan, Manager, Board Services by email or phone.

Phone: 613-596-8211 ext. 8381


Contact Us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.